Advancing the sport of motorcycling

News Detail

Close Racing at Supercross Champs Finale

Back to News

It was an exciting, edge-of-the-seats finish to this season’s New Zealand Supercross Championships at the second and final round in Southland on Saturday.


The scene had been set for a thrilling conclusion to the championship after close racing at a rain-drenched and muddy round one in Tokoroa a week earlier, but this time there were no downpours to ruin the party.


A good-sized crowd was certainly entertained at the Brent Scammell Honda-supported, TransDiesel, Mainstream Global Logistics and DRD magazine-sponsored series finale at the "world's southernmost supercross track" at Winton, just north of Invercargill.


Honda Racing Team CRF450F rider Cody Cooper was again in sensational form and, although he didn't manage another clean-sweep of wins in the premier SX1 (450cc) class, as he had at a damp Tokoroa six days earlier, the 34-year-old's 1-1-2 score-card at Winton meant he still emerged as the top man at the event and wrapped up the title by 12 points from Mangakino's Kayne Lamont (Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ450F).


Eventual third overall in the SX1 class this season was Ngatea's Ben Broad (Whyteline Kawasaki KX450F).


Meanwhile, Motueka’s former Grand Prix motocross racer Josh Coppins (Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ250F) finished the job he had started a week earlier in the SX2 (250cc) class, finishing 1-2-1 in his three outings at Winton and taking the title by a comfortable 29 points from Tauranga-based former Rangiora rider Micah McGoldrick (Honda Racing Team CRF250).


Third overall in the SX2 class this year was Kotemaori cross-country ace Reece Lister (Bike Worx KTM).


Te Awamutu’s Daniel White (Kawasaki) had led the Junior 125/250cc class battle at Tokoroa, but he was a no-show at Winton and this left the way clear for Dunedin’s Grason Veitch (KTM) to nip in and take the crown.


Veitch impressed with his 2-1-1 results at Winton, eventually taking the title by 14 points from Christchurch's Marshall Phillips (Yamaha). Third overall in the Junior 125/250cc class this year was fast-improving Ashburton rider Mitchell Stocker (KTM).


Ashburton’s Ben Wall (Husqvarna) came from behind to win the Junior Lites (85cc) class. His 1-3-1 results at Winton meant he won the day by nine points from Palmerston North's Rhys Jillings (KTM) and he eventually secured the title by 12 points from Jillings.


Invercargill’s Jack Symon (KTM) had led the Junior Lites class by a solitary point after Tokoroa and he again rode solidly at Winton, but a non-finish in the final race of the championship saw him forced to accept third overall for the series.


Leading final standings in the 2017 New Zealand Supercross Championships:


SX1: 1. Cody Cooper (Mount Maunganui) 117 points; 2. Kayne Lamont (Mangakino) 105; 3. Ben Broad (Ngatea) 86.


SX2 (250cc): 1. Josh Coppins (Motueka) 117 points; 2. Micah McGoldrick (Tauranga) 88; 3. Reece Lister (Kotemaori) 84.


Junior 125/250: 1. Grason Veitch (Dunedin) 109; 2. Marshall Phillips (Christchurch) 95; 3. Mitchell Stocker (Ashburton) 73.


Junior Lites (85cc): 1. Ben Wall (Ashburton) 100; 2. Rhys Jillings (Palmerston North) 88; 3. Jack Symon (Invercargill) 74.


Credit: Words and photo by Andy McGechan,


Latest News

View All News