Advancing the sport of motorcycling

News Detail


Back to News

28 August 2019

Dear Members,

Motorcycling New Zealand is pleased to confirm the dates and venues for the 2020 New Zealand Superbike Championship (NZSBK)

They are as follows:

Round 1            11 – 12 January            Mike Pero Motorsport Park Christchurch

Round 2            18 – 19 January            Levels International Raceway, Timaru

Round 3            29 Feb – 1 March          Hampton Downs Motorsport Park

Round 4            28 – 29 March               Circuit Chris Amon, Manfeild

Round 5            4 – 5 April                     Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo


Classes for the 2020 NZSBK Championship rounds will be:


Supersport 600

Supersport 300

Supersport 150 – Here is a link to the rules:  

Pro Twin

Side Car (Motofest round to be confirmed)

NOTE:  Classes not included in NZSBK will still be run at club level, including GP and TT titles, which will be in conjunction with other major events, such as the 250 Production & Superlite GP's at 2020 South Island Cup rounds.


We will not be running a control tyre in any classes at the NZSBK Championship in 2021 until a full review has been undertaken including members feedback after the 2020 NZSBK Championship.  MNZ apologies for any inconvenience that this has caused with riders or teams.  


The NZSBK Management team have set up a riders forum where we welcome feedback and input into advancing our NZSBK Championship.  We would like to have representation for all classes and are currently seeking representatives from each class to form part of this group.  If you can please send your interest through to


We aim to have entry forms out in early October (including a proposed race schedule) and this includes Pit Garage space allocation, which this season will have a better plan & group type structure.

Kind regards


Grant Ramage

Road Racing Commissioner


Latest News

View All News